Wool Week 2014 – Marie Wallin Knitting Workshops

wool_week_sheep_pink_green

It’s Monday, and the Wool Week Blues has properly set in. After a week spent knitting and learning and looking at pretty things and meeting interesting people, being back to my desk and laptop is all a bit dull. Don’t get me wrong, I love my little blog, but I’ve had such an amazing time last week that I just wish it wasn’t over yet.
Wool Week kicked off on Sunday with the Wool Ride, organised by the Campaign for Wool. I had tickets, but sadly couldn’t make it due to being away for work. There are lots of cool pictures on the CFW Facebook page though, go have a look!
My personal Wool Week started on Tuesday, with a visit to the Wool Interiors exhibition at Southwark Cathedral, followed by a Fairisle knitting workshop with Marie Wallin. I’ve never been very good at stranded colourwork, but I have to say, this workshop helped me a LOT. I’m normally a continental knitter, and for the past years I’ve been struggling along trying to hold one colour of yarn in each hand, which usually results in a puckered, untidy mess. But boy, what a revelation.. changing to English style stranded knitting seems to be doing it for me. I managed to produce a neat little swatch of the project of the day, Marie’s Christmas Mittens made with Rowan Yarns Felted Tweed, and am determined to actually make these pretties before the winter is over – and I’m not even scared of messing up anymore. Yay! 

Wednesday kicked off with another workshop with Marie Wallin – 3D knitting. I had no real imagination of what exactly 3D knitting meant – a quick search on Google led to 3D printer produced knitwear (yes, that’s a thing apparently), but that probably wasn’t what this was all about. 
We were given a ball of Rowan Yarns Cocoon which is one of my favourites as it is super soft and fluffy, and instructions for 2 different stitching techniques. The first is a folded fabric, the second one literally has knots in it. I really enjoyed making both of these – Not sure I would actually use them in a garment, but they were super fun to knit.

After the workshop I paid a visit to John Lewis Oxford Street to check out the Woolly Window and their workshop space. Rowan Yarns were teaching cowls and capelets in Rowan Big Wool, the free patterns can be downloaded via the Rowan website.

That’s it for now! Read all about how I lost my heart to a ball of fluff at the Knitting and Stitching Show in my next post. See you then!

8 thoughts on “Wool Week 2014 – Marie Wallin Knitting Workshops

      • I’ll check out JL if I can. Me & Emily always try and sneak some yarn into any visit to the Big Smoke ;) Not sure exactly what our plans are yet, we’ll be travelling up on the Friday. Hope my toe is better by then too! Lol! X

Leave a Reply

