Making ends meet

I love wool. All knitters do (or so I assume) and I am no exception. I find it exceptionally hard to walk past a yarn shop without entering. Usually I leave with at least 2 balls of yarn, already visualizing future projects and possible recipients of my work. And while inspiration is great, sometimes I get carried away. Last winter (it was during the sales though, it was TOO good an opportunity to miss) I bought 15 balls of Rowan Silk Twist, planning to make a jumper or an oversized cardigan for myself. I chose a beautiful gold and ochre shade and couldn’t wait to get home to get started. Once back however another project caught my attention, and another yarn, and all too quickly I was busy making more Kamis and socks and the beautiful bag of yarn lay forgotten in my stash chest. It is now a year later, and winter is almost over again. The yarn is still patiently lying in its bag, waiting for the day when I will finally run out of other projects.

Frustrated that I simply don’t have the time and energy to work on a gazillion projects at once, I have set myself a task: Not to buy new wool this year before my stash at home has been reduced to odd bits and bobs. But what to do when you’re busy knitting a piece and all of a sudden you run out of wool? And you’ve decided not to allow yourself to buy another ball of the yarn needed to finish? You frantically rummage around in your stash to find a yarn that works as a substitute. The results are something like these.

Handknit Socks

You may ask: But why didn’t she simply knit two green cuffs and finish each sock in the other yarn? The answer is: Because I was wrong. I thought I had enough wool to finish a whole pair, but I didn’t. I kind of like the idea of emphasizing a flaw in a piece though. The Japanese fill cracks in ceramics with pure gold to better show the flaw in a piece, and to honour that even something that is imperfect has its very own beauty. The bold green stands in stark contrast to the rest of the colours, and that was exactly what I wanted. I have a feeling that this kind of look will be a thing throughout the year for me. Can’t wait to see how other pieces turn out. I would love to hear about your favourite projects to recycle leftover yarn!

Leave a Reply

